One Direction.
One Direction are a British-Irish boy band originally
formed by Niall Horan, Zayn Malik, Liam Payne,
Harry Styles and Louis Tomlinson. They signed to
Simon Cowell's record label Syco Records after
being formed and placing third in the seventh series
of British television music competition The X Factor.
They later signed in North America to Columbia
Records. In November 2011, One Direction released
their debut album Up All Night, which became the
fastest-selling debut album in the UK of 2011. In
2012, it debuted at number one on the U.S. Billboard
200, making One Direction the first UK group in U.S.
chart history to debut at number one with their first
album. Up All Night spawned the Official UK Singles
Chart top ten singles — "What Makes You
Beautiful", "Gotta Be You" and "One Thing". In 2012,
"What Makes You Beautiful" won the BRIT Award for
Best British Single. One Direction supported the
album with their Up All Night Tour. They have began
recording their second studio album, due for release
in late 2012. One Direction's world tour is set for
2013, with tickets grossing $15.7 million for their
Australian and New Zealand dates.
One Direction has been described as sparking a
resurgence in the boy band concept, and of forming
part of a new "British Invasion" in the United States.  
One Direction have supported various charities and
foundations, and have commercial endorsements
with Pokemon, Nokia, HarperCollins and Hasbro.
"Take Me Home" is released in November 2012.
Zayn Malik leaves the group in March of 2015.